Courses & Events Calendar

New items are regularly being added to this page — so check back often!

Further details regarding each course (e.g. begin and end times) will be shown to you after you click 'Register' and are taken to the course's sign-up page.

Due to COVID-19 and government recommendations, all Beginner Beekeeping Courses and Meet the Beekeepers sessions will be offered online.

Beekeeping Courses will be offered through ZOOM, a videoconferencing app. All courses are live and interactive. You can still ask questions and learn everything you need to know this beekeeping season. Our beekeeping season is about to get underway, and are here to get you off the ground with the information you need. If you have any questions, please contact us by email.

Meet The Beekeeper Live Streaming every Monday at 8 PM. You can’t come to us, so we are bringing our sessions to you! Join us to learn about the beekeeping season from our experts. These sessions are live and interactive. So find a cozy spot, have a beverage and bring your questions! You will still need to register, but it is free! You can also contact us anytime with your beekeeping questions, please email us or call 587-881-0244.

Just click the month to open it up.

Two-Day City-Approved Beekeeping Course Parts 1 & 2
Edmonton
Saturday, January 11 and Sunday, January 12, 2020

Two-Day City-Approved Beekeeping Course Parts 1 & 2
Edmonton
Saturday, February 8 and Sunday, February 9, 2020

Alberta Beekeeping
One-day Beginner and Refresh Course
Edmonton Area
Saturday, February 22, 2020

Two-Day City-Approved Beekeeping Course Parts 1 & 2
Edmonton
Saturday, March 14 and Sunday, March 15, 2020

*Rescheduled to April 18 & 19*

Anyone who signed up for this course will be automatically enrolled in the April 18 & 19 course.

Alberta Beekeeping
One-day Beginner and Refresh Course
Edmonton Area
Saturday, March 28, 2020

*To be offered online*

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

Meet the Beekeeper
Opening an Overwintered Hive
Online
Saturday, April 4

Live-Streamed

Meet the Beekeeper
Opening an Overwintered Hive
Online
Monday, April 13 at 8:00pm, MDT

Live-Streamed

City-Approved Beekeeping Course
Online
Tuesday, April 21 from 11:00am to 4:00pm, MDT. 

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

Meet the Beekeeper
Spring Feeding and Stimulation
Online
Monday, April 20 at 8:00pm MDT

Live-Streamed

Meet the Beekeeper
Spring Feeding and Stimulation
Online
Monday, April 27 at 8:00pm MDT

Live-Streamed

Alberta Beekeeping
Beginner and Refresh Course
Online
Monday, April 27, 2020 from noon to 3:00pm, MDT

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

City-Approved Beekeeping Course
Online
Tuesday, May 12 from 11am to 4pm, MDT

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

Meet the Beekeeper
Testing for Mite Levels and Treatment Options
Online
Monday May 11 at 8:00pm

Meet the Beekeeper
Setting Up New Colonies from Nucs
Online
Monday, May 18 at 8:00pm

Meet the Beekeeper
Splitting Your Hive to Make Two Hives - As a necessary management tool - not just a good idea
Online
Monday, May 25 at 8:00pm

Alberta Beekeeping
Beginner and Refresh Course
Online
Monday, May 25 from noon to 3:00pm MDT

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

 

Meet the Beekeeper
2020 Nucs - Managing their Stimulation and Growth
Online
Monday, June 1 at 8:00pm MDT

City-Approved Beekeeping Course
Online
Tuesday, June 9 from 11:00am to 4:00pm MDT

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

Meet the Beekeeper
Growing Your Hive - Four weeks to "the flow"
Onlne
Monday, June 8 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Growing Your Hive - Two weeks to "the flow"
Online
Monday, June 15 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Growing Your Hive - One week to "the flow"
Online
Monday, June 22 at 8:00pm MDT

Alberta Beekeeping
One-day Beginner and Refresh Course
Online
Monday, June 22 from noon to 3:00pm MDT

Details will be provided by email prior to the course date.

Meet the Beekeeper
The Main Honey Flow - How should your hive look?
Online
Monday, July 6 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Adding More Boxes for More Honey
Online
Monday, July 13 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Managing Your Bees During the Honey Flow
Online
Monday, July 20 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
First "Pull" Honey
Online
Monday, July 27 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Final Supers On for the Balance of the Main Crop
Online
Monday, August 10 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Taking Honey Away and Preparing Bees for Winter
Online
Monday, August 17 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Final Honey Removal
Online
Monday, August 24 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Queen Evaluation - Should you re-queen your hive for winter?
Online
Monday, August 31 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Pollen and Syrup Feeding - Why and how much?
Online
Monday, September 14 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Mite Load Checks and Treatment
Online
Monday, September 21 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Cluster Size and Queen Performance for Winter
Online
Monday, September 28 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Hive Wrapping and Hive Weight
Online
Monday, October 5 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Hive Wrapping
Monday, October 12 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Final Meeting the Beekeeper Field Day
Sherwood Park
Monday, October 19 at 8:00pm MDT

Meet the Beekeeper
Last 'Meet the Beekeeper' of the Season
Join us for a BBQ and some free prize draws – Event to be held at the Hiveworld Store – 5418 136 Ave. Edmonton
Saturday, October 24, 2020